How can I retroactively combine several single installations into a multi-user system?
This procedure works for encrypted local files too. If encryption is used, it doesn't have to be turned off.
One installation is selected as the "master". The application data of this installation are taken over, the data of the other installations will be lost, however.
The master installation is moved to a network drive, so that all users can access it.
Then new users are added, whereby the actual password of the users are entered. This is particularly important, because the existing keys are taken over.
From each user the subdirectory under
workspace/keys/ is moved into the master installation.
It has to be made sure that the banks list matches. The bank 0 in the master must match the bank 0 of the user, etc. If this is not the case, the files
<N>.properties of the users have to be renamed accordingly, whereby here
<N> means the number of the bank. For example
0.keybag is the key file of the first bank,
1.pdf the INI letter of the second bank, etc.
See also FAQ 77.
In the file
workspace/keys/users an entry
KeyDir<Name> has to be added for each user, which points to the keys directory of the user.
As of version 1.10 the procedure is different, since here an SQL database is used.
Make sure that all single installations have the same program version.
Proceed as described above under items 1 and 2.
Start the program and log on as the master user.
From the Edit menu choose the item User administration.
Click on Import users from another installation.
Choose the workspace directory from each of the other users.
The other user is displayed. Click on Finish.
Proceed accordingly with the other single installations.